Djembe& Mande Music Page
(last revision10/12/2002)

Hand Drumming Mailing Lists and Newsgroups

The links below will take you to the FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) or sign-up pages for a variety of hand drum related mailing lists, discussion boards and news groups. The content of the groups may or may not focus on traditional Mande djembe/dundun drumming,  depending on the topics under discussion at any given time. Segments below in quotes are from the welcome message for that particular list.

The authors of the Djembe/Mande Music page do not vouch for the accuracy of the information shared on the lists below - please read with care! If you do subscribe, be sure to keep the user information the list servers will send you on how to unsubscribe, as some of the lists can generate 40-50 messages  a day.

If you know of other hand drum related lists, please contact MichaelWall <(808)737-3786> who maintains this volume.


"Jembe-List " jembe-list@lyris.wesleyan.edu

"The jembe-list is dedicated to furthering the study and appreciation of jembe traditions in Africa and abroad. The jembe-list is supported as an educational endeavor by Wesleyan University. Jembe-list is an open mailing list that is not moderated." This list is the latest incarnation of Mande ethnomusicologist Eric Charry's former lists: Djembe-l@u.washington.edu,and Djembe-l@uncg.edu.

Sign up at: http://www.wesleyan.edu/~echarry/jembe-listfaq.html

List Manager:   Eric Charry  <echarry@mail.wesleyan.edu>


"Djembe-l@Yahoo.com"

"Djembe-L is a moderated internet mailing list, dedicated to the ongoing development and maintenance of a knowledge base; the Djembe-L FAQ at: <http://www.drums.org/djembefaq>. Emphasis is upon the musical culture of West Africa, including the countries of Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea, and Cote D'Ivoire. Djembe-L's primary purpose is to follow the music of the djembe, dunun, balaphone, kora and other distinctive African musical instruments as supported by chant, song, and dance."

Sign up at:     http://www.drums.org/djembefaq

List Manager: Happy Shel  happy@drums.org

TO POST TO DJEMBE-L, YOU MUST BE SUBSCRIBED:
djembe-l-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

TO UNSUBSCRIBE DJEMBE-L: djembe-l-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com


The old Djembe-l Archives

http://www.escribe.com/music/djembe/

http://www.egroups.com/list/djembe-l/

Both the mailing lists above have archives at their FAQ sites, dating from their inception in Janurary 1999. The old Djembe-l archives document the prior conversations on the djembe-l@u.washington.edu and djembe-l@uncg.edulists beginning in 1994.


" nowar@egroups.com"

This list is primarily focused on discussions and notation of West African rhythms and percussion.

Sign up at:     http://www.eGroups.com/list/nowar

List Manager:    Paul Janse  <kaztam@xs4all.nl>


" Rhythmhealing@onelist.com"

"All posts on rhythm and vibration healing are welcome. Also URL's, references, or anything you may think is appropriate."

Sign up at:

http://Rhythmhealing@onelist.com/viewarchive.cgi?listname=
RhythmHealing

List Manager:    John Barron  <barronj@indigo.ie>


"Latinperc Mailing List" latinperc@yahoogroups.com

"The Latinperc mailing list is dedicated to professionals, amateurs,
beginners, and fans of Latin Percussion. Anything related to Latin
Percussion can be posted for all subscribers to read. Anything
ranging from gigs to technique to buying a new cowbell are the
reasons that this list exists."

Sign up at:  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/latinperc/

List Manager: Nolan Warden <latinperc-owner@yahoogroups.com>


" Drum circles "

"A new mailing list for discussing the growing drum circle phenomenon. This list will be used to announce new features on the website, special drum circle events, and any other news in this growing area."

Sign up at:     http://www.drumcircle.org/drumcircles

List Manager:    BobAnzlovar <ommadawn@drumcircle.org>


"TexasDrums"

"TexasDrums Community Discussion list - is an unmoderated interactive mail list connecting drummers in Texas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Louisiana and New Mexico together for the discussion of hand drum info, the "How To's"of: rhythms, notations, drumming styles,  and bringing our drum and dance community closer together by discussing circle dynamics."

To Sign Up:    http://www.onelist.com/subscribe-cgi/TexasDrums

List Manager:  Happy Shel  < happy@drums.org>
 


"Announce-TexasDrums"

"Announce-TexasDrums is unmoderated and a place to announce hand drum and dance circles, jams, workshops in Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana and New Mexico covering African, Middle Eastern, Gabrielle Roth, Afro-Cuban,Latin, etc. NO REPLIES! Must be hand drum or dance related! This is a non-commercial community announcement list."

To Sign Up:    http://www.onelist.com/subscribe.cgi/Announce-TexasDrums

List Manager:  Happy Shel  < happy@drums.org>


Hand drumming

"This is a non-moderated list for those who just love hand drumming, whether you play djembe, congas, ashiko, bongos, or any other type of hand drum. Since this list will not be moderated, and posts will not be pre-approved or edited in any way, this list will only be open to adults. If the occasional re-post or off-topic post, advertisement or occasional argument irks you, this is not the list for you. The purpose for this list is purely for fun. It is a way for hand drummers (whether they be newbies, amateurs, enthusiasts, or professionals) to meet each other, and exchange information and conversation."

Sign up at: http://www.onelist.com/subscribe.cgi/handdrumming

List Manager: Kim Saretsky <kim@bestweb.net >


" The NA Flute and Drumming Discussion Forum "

An "interactive Discussion Forum/Message Board dedicated to topics about Native American flute, flute making, drumming and flute techniques, African, Afro-Cuban, Latin and other global rhythms."

Sign up at:

http://forums.delphi.com/m/main.asp?sigdir=nativeflute&isp=if&
pic=in-ISASONG1589

List Manager:    Nancy McDowell  <isasong@aol.com>
 


"Djembe-Ireland@onelist.com"

To provide djembe players in Ireland with detailed information about the djembe, workshops etc. For more information, please visit:
http://move.to/djembe

Sign up: http://onelist.com/community/Djembe-Ireland

List Manager: John Barron


"Fote: West-Afrikaanse Percussie en Dans in Nederland"
The Dutch Speaking Djembe-list called Fote (meaning White Man in SuSu) can be found at:
http://www.egroups.com/group/fote/info.html

Status: eGroups.com e-group.

Beschrijving :
Deze nederlandstalige "mailing list" heeft als onderwerp : West-Afrikaanse
Percussie en Dans in Nederland. Het doel is het uitwisselen van informatie aangaande workshops, (reguliere) lessen, "events", vakanties, leraren ,bands, weekenden, etc, binnen Nederland. Tevens een discussieplaats vooralle andere onderwerpen die met West-Afrikaanse Percussie en/of Dans temaken hebben.

Group email addresses:
Post Message fote@eGroups.com
Subscribe fote-subscribe@eGroups.com
Unsubscribe fote-unsubscribe@eGroups.com
List owner fote-owner@eGroups.com


"Djembedos"
A new German Speaking Djembe-list called Djembedos can be found at
http://www.egroups.com/group/djembedos/info.html

West-Afrikanische Perkussion und Tanz sind die themen dieser Deutschsprachigen liste. Die liste richtet sich vornamlich auf Deutschland, Osterreich und die Schweiz Jeder informationsaustauschbezogen auf die obrigen themen ist zutreffend

Group email addresses:
Post Message djembedos@eGroups.com
Subscribe djembedos-subscribe@eGroups.com
Unsubscribe djembedos-unsubscribe@eGroups.com
List owner djembedos-owner@eGroups.com


1Ecstatic Drums list
1EcstaticDrums@onelist.com
The 1Ecstatic Drums list has been created for the discussion of Hand Drumming, drum circles and rhythm with a specific focus on the rhythms of Africa, Latin America, India, Pakistan, and the Middle East (or anywhere interesting for that matter). Teachings, lessons, events, rhythm & drumming specific Urls and general musical philosophy discussions are also encouraged. Everyone is welcome.

Sign up at: http://www.onelist.com/subscribe/1EcstaticDrums

List Manager: Jim Donovan IndigoByJD@aol.com


africanshereandthere@eGroups.com

Information for African American artists and their families. Information for djembe drummers and dancers listing and info about conferences and dance camps,  info about Africans in America

Subscribe at:  http://www.egroups.com/list/africanshereandthere

Moderator: africanshereandthere-owner@egroups.com


percussion@eGroups.com

Une liste francophone sur les instruments de percussions traditionnels ou non. Les discussions pourrons porter sur des thèmes relatifs aux  percussions de toutes sortes, des annonces de drumming-circle pourront être communiquées, ainsi que toute autres information pouvant aider la communauté mondiale de percussionnistes francophones (et autres bien-entendu :)  Alors amis joueurs de Djembe, de bongo set, de toute percussion qui vont font vibrer n'hésitez pas à nous rejoindre.
Subscribe at percussion-subscribe@eGroups.com

List owner : percussion-owner@eGroups.com


djembe-info@eGroups.com

Djembe's International Info Mailing list is published by Djembe Magazine which is an independent magazine distributed quarterly in Denmark, Sweden and Norway  with news, information and debate on world art, world music and world culture.  Djembe Magazine distributes news and calendar information of interest for an international audience through this Info Mailinglist. Djembe is sounding the drums in Cyberspace!

[http://www.djembe.dk]

Subscribe at:  djembe-info-subscribe@eGroups.com

List owner : djembe-info-owner@eGroups.com


djembe@eGroups.com

Djembe's Info Mailinglist is published by Djembe Magazine which is an independent magazine distributed quarterly in Denmark, Sweden and Norway with news, information and debate on world art, music and culture. In order to keep our readers updated with events and developments at the cross cultural workshops in Scandinavia, Djembe Magazine distributes news and calendar information through this Info Mailinglist. Djembe is sounding the drums in Cyberspace!

Subscribe at:  djembe-subscribe@eGroups.com

List owner:   djembe-owner@eGroups.com


djembe-editorial@eGroups.com

Djembe is a Magazine is distributed quarterly in Denmark, Sweden and Norway (plus app. 100 subscribers in USA and Africa) with a circulation of 2,500 copies.  The magazine is also sold in certain shops. A large section of the magazine focuses in particular on African culture and cultural news from Africa. Another section is on world music. A third section is on cross cultural issues. The articles are in both English and Danish language. This list is used for communication between the editorial members of the magazine.

Subscribe : djembe-editorial-subscribe@eGroups.com

List owner : djembe-editorial-owner@eGroups.com


drumcrazyUK@egroups.co.uk

UK based Information sharing list for anyone involved in drumming in groups. Drum circles, drum classes, regular groups and one off events all can be posted. Any culture, Samba, African, Taiko, Native American, Balinese as long as you hit things with hands or sticks and make a noise we are happy to talk about it. Whether you do it for fun, work, healing, community building or as a team builder you are welcome on the list.
 

Subscribe: http://www.drumcrazyUK-subscribe@egroups.co.uk

List Owner: John Walter  jwalter@freenet.co.uk


Learn_the_djembe@onelist.com

Hi, if you have come here, you are either a beginner or have being playing for a while, please join the list, to learn or to share with others what you know. This page and list is specifically for beginners to intermediate, to have what YOU want . Remember, the main aim of the list is to provide a base or an "online" course on how to play "Teach & Learn"

For more information: http://gofree.indigo.ie/~djembe

Subscribe:          Learn_the_djembe-subscribe@onelist.com

List owner:        Learn_the_djembe-owner@onelist.com

URL to this page:  http://www.onelist.com/group/Learn_the_djembe


R. Clark's listings of world and regional hand drum related lists:
http://www.acceleration.net/clark/djembeLring/djembeL.html


Bulletin Boards

The African Marketplace http://www.safari-iafrica.com/wwwboard/wwwboard.shtml


There are a number of newsgroups which might be of interest:
rec.music.makers.percussion.hand-drum
rec.music.makers.percussion
rec.music.afro-latin
alt.music.world
alt.music.african
rec.music.brazilian

[ToC] [ToP]